The Early Childhood Curriculum Framework

Aistear is a curriculum framework designed specifically for early educators planning learning experiences for children aged from birth to 6 years of age. Early learning and development is presented in 4 inter-connected themes in Aistear:

1. Well-Being
2. Identity and Belonging
3. Communicating
4. Exploring and Thinking

The themes describe what children develop and learn such as dispositions, attitudes, values, skills, knowledge and understanding.
The 4 themes are broken into 4 aims which are further broken into 6 Learning Goals.

Further information is available for parents at